SBAI History

The Standards Board for Alternative Investments (SBAI) was established in 2008 as the Hedge Fund Standards Board (HFSB) by leading alternative investment managers to develop and improve industry practices. Today it is supported by a large community of leading asset managers and institutional investors.

Original Founders

  • Stuart Fiertz, Cheyne Capital
  • Baron Fink, Man Group
  • Andrew Frank, Och-Ziff Capital
  • David Harding, Winton Capital
  • Baron Hintze, CQS
  • Klaus Jantii, Brummer & Partners
  • Nagi Kawkabani, Brevan Howard
  • Sir Paul Marshall, Marshall Wace
  • Jeffrey Meyer, Gartmore
  • George Robinson, Sloane Robinson
  • Emmanuel Roman, GLG Partners
  • Alex Snow, Lansdowne Partners
  • Rob Standing, LDFM


2006/2007: G8 policy leaders voice concerns over financial stability in relation to hedge funds

2007: 14 leading hedge fund managers create the Hedge Fund Working Group (HFWG) chaired by Sir Andrew Large to develop practice standards

2008: The Standards (HFWG Final Report) are published and the HFSB is founded. Antonio Borges becomes the first HFSB Chair

2010: Investor Chapter is created, ensuring that investors have an equal voice in development of the Standards

2010: Sir Andrew Large becomes Interim Chair when Antonio Borges leaves to take over as European Director of the IMF

2011: Dame Amelia Fawcett is appointed new Chair

2014: HFSB granted affiliate membership of International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)

2016: HFSB establishes mutual observer relationship with the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds (IFSWF)

2017: HFSB was renamed to Standards Board for Alternative Investments (SBAI)

2020: Mario Therrien of CDPQ and Luke Ellis of Man Group Pls are appointed Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively