SBAI » History

Bringing managers and investors together to set standards for the alternative investment industry

SBAI History

The SBAI was established in 2008 as the Hedge Fund Standards Board (HFSB) by leading alternative investment managers to develop and improve industry practices. Today it is supported by nearly 200 managers and institutional investors around the world who collectively manage or invest about US$ 3tn.

2006/7: G8 policy leaders voice concerns over financial stability in relation to hedge funds.
2007: 14 leading hedge fund managers create the Hedge Fund Working Group (HFWG) chaired by Sir Andrew Large to develop practice standards.
2008: The Standards (HFWG Final Report) are published and the HFSB is founded. Antonio Borges becomes the first HFSB Chairman.
2009: Consultations launched to amend the Standards on handling of redemptions, independent fund administration and safekeeping.
2010: Investor Chapter is created, ensuring that investors have an equal voice in development of the Standards.
2010: Sir Andrew Large becomes Interim Chairman when Antonio Borges leaves to take over as European Director of the IMF.
2011: Dame Amelia Fawcett is appointed new Chairman.
2012: Consultation launched to globalise the Standards.
2014: HFSB granted affiliate membership of International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO).
2015: Consultation launched to amend the Standards on managing conflicts of interest.
2016: HFSB establishes mutual observer relationship with the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds (IFSWF).
2017: HFSB was rebranded to Standards Board for Alternative Investments (SBAI)
2020:  Mario Therrien of CDPQ and Luke Ellis of Man Group Pls are appointed Chairman and Deputy Chairman, respectively